Danell Lab

Past Group Members

  • Austin Allen, BS, 2019
  • Belinda Anumudu, BA, 2008
  • Jessica Buchanan, BA, 2021
  • Ryan Cook, BS, 2013
  • Chris Crout, BA, 2011
  • Nolan Davis, BS, 2019
  • Jonathan Edwards, BA, 2008
  • Nicolette Edwards, BS, 2017
  • Elizabeth LaFave, BS, 2018
  • Brian Harris, BA, 2007
  • Kate Henderson
  • Ariel Herbert, BS, 2017
  • Kayla Hunter, BS, 2011
  • Anna Jarvis, BS, 2011
  • Robert Kobet, BS, 2015, MS 2016
  • Swathi Mamillapalli, MS, 2018
  • Jennifer Marechek, MS, 2019
  • Haritha Mattapalli, MS, 2007
  • Rachel Mehaffey, BS, 2014
  • Will Monteith, BS, 2006
  • Matt Myer, MS, 2008
  • Whitney Parrish, BS, 2011, MS, 2012
  • Alicia Strange, BS, 2008
  • Drisheka Thati, MS, 2012
  • Anita Unnithan, BS, 2006
  • Chris Veale, BS, 2007
  • Mary-Russell Wagstaff
  • Cameron Worthington, BS, 2018
  • Carl Young, BS, 2005

Where are they now?

Alumni of the Danell Lab at ECU have gone on to varied and rewarding careers. They have furthered their education in graduate or professional school, and have secured positions in their chosen professions. I am exceptionally proud of all of these students; please see highlights of just a few of them below, featuring links to their current employers.

William Monteith, PhD
ECU Class of 2006

Haritha Mattapalli, MS
ECU Class of 2007

Uchechi Belinda Anumudu, MD
ECU Class of 2008

Anna Jarvis Knox, PharmD
ECU Class of 2011


4/4/19: Austin was awarded the best Undergraduate Biomedical Sciences Oral at ECU’s Research and Creative Achievement Week! We are all so excited about Austin’s recognition!

3/28/19: Dr. D accepted the Diversity and Inclusion Award on behalf of the Undergraduate Program in Chemistry at the Chancellor’s Horizon Awards for Service. ECU is committed to increasing representation and maintaining a welcoming community of young scientists!

3/7/19: Our manuscript was just accepted by the peer-reviewed journal Prostaglandins and Other Lipid Mediators. Important progress resulting from our interdisciplinary collaboration with Pharmacology professor Dr. Van Dross-Anderson is detailed.

10/15/18: Congratulations to Nolan on his Chemistry Undergraduate Research Experience (CURE) Award!

8/24/18: Our long-standing collaboration with chemistry colleague Dr. Burns will be yielding another manuscript soon in the Journal of Biological Inorganic Chemistry!

4/9/18: Dr. D won a UNC Board of Governors Distinguished Professor for Teaching Award for 2017-2018!

3/6/18: Cam’s abstract was accepted for a poster presentation at the 66th ASMS Conference in sunny San Diego this June!

2/23/18: Austin has won an Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity award to support our research with physician David Collier. Our whole team is very proud!

10/15/17: Elizabeth and Austin won a Chemistry Undergraduate Research Experience (CURE) Award to support their undergraduate research, and Cameron won a CURE award for his, too. Both awards include $1,500 for chemicals and other supplies, and will help them make progress on important studies of benzoate preservatives with chromatography and mass spectrometry!

6/15/17: Whitney’s work has been accepted for publication in the International Journal of Mass Spectrometry: “Improving the Reliability of Mass Spectrometry Measurements of Peptide-Zinc(II) Binding Constants”
4/4/17: Jen won “Best Graduate Oral Presentation” in Biomedical Sciences at ECU’s Research Week for her talk: “Sodium Benzoate: Quantitation in Soft Drinks Implicated in Obesity”

2/28/17: Dr. D was inducted into the National Academy of Inventors, which recognizes and encourages inventors who have a patent issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office: Patent #9,328,060 J-Series Protaglandin-Enthanolamides as Novel Therapeutics.

2/15/17: Nicolette won a Chemistry Undergraduate Research Experience award: “Investigation of Suitable Cationizing Agents to Attain different MS/MS pathways for Isomeric Lipids”