Faculty & Staff


Faculty

Andrew Morehead

Department Chair
Associate Professor

Catalytic Applications of Transition Metal Complexes with Synthetic Organic Applications
SZ-301
252-328-9702
moreheada@ecu.edu

William Allen

Professor
Synthesis of Fluorescent Molecules for Molecular Recognition
SZ-536
252-328-9779
allenwi@ecu.edu

Sambuddha Banerjee

Teaching Assistant Professor
Biochemistry of Copper and Iron in Infection and Immunity
General Chemistry, Biological Chemistry, and CURE Inorganic Chemistry
SZ-409
252-328-9804
banerjees17@ecu.edu

Libero Bartolotti

Adjunct Professor
Applications of Density
Functional Theory to Problems of Chemical Interest
SZ-506
252-328-9762
bartolottil@ecu.edu

Rosa Alvarez-Bell
Teaching Associate Professor
General Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry
SZ-413
252-328-9724
alverezr@ecu.edu

Lisa Bennett
Teaching Instructor
General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry
SZ-416
252-328-9727
bennettl@ecu.edu

Colin Burns
Professor
Characterization of Metal Binding Peptides and Proteins
SZ-552
252-328-9790
burnsc@ecu.edu

James Collins
Teaching Associate Professor
General Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry
SZ-415
252-328-9729
collinsj@ecu.edu

Allison Danell
Professor
Dean, Thomas Harriot College of Arts & Sciences
Bioanalytical Mass Spectrometry
Analytical Instrument and Method Development
SZ-591
252-328-9766
danella@ecu.edu

Subodh Dutta
Teaching Associate Professor
General Chemistry, Instrumentation Specialist
SZ-407
252-737-1565
duttas@ecu.edu

Headshot of Sharon Ermolowich

Sharon Ermolowich
Teaching Instructor
Analytical and Pharmaceutical Chemistry
SZ-343B
252-328-9757
ermolowichs17@ecu.edu

Robert Hughes
Associate Professor
Control and Monitoring of Biochemical Pathways
SZ-564
252-328-9730
hughesr16@ecu.edu

Shouquan Huo
Professor
Phosphorescent Materials for Organic Light-Emitting Diode Applications
SZ-543
252-327-9784
huos@ecu.edu

Eli Hvastkovs
Professor
Development of Electrochemical Sensors
SZ-591
252-328-9767
hvastkovse@ecu.edu

Anthony Kennedy
Associate Professor
Analytical Chemistry
SZ-582
252-328-9816
kennedyan@ecu.edu

Yumin Li
Professor
Molecular Dynamics Simulations of Protein-protein and Protein-ligand Interactions
SZ-507
252-328-9763
liyu@ecu.edu

Kwang Hun Lim
Professor
Application of NMR Spectroscopy to Biophysical Studies of Proteins
SZ-581
252-328-9805
limk@ecu.edu

Brian Love
Associate Professor
New Methodologies in Organic Synthesis
SZ-534
252-328-9778
loveb@ecu.edu

Pingping Meng
Assistant Professor
Environmental Chemistry
SZ-505
252-737-1383
mengp22@ecu.edu

Adam Offenbacher
Associate Professor
Protein Structure, Dynamics and Function; Enzyme Catalysis; Human and Plant Diseases; Quantum Biology
SZ-579
252-737-5422
offenbachera17@ecu.edu

Jason Pajski
Teaching Assistant Professor
SZ-512
252-328-9766
pajskij@ecu.edu

Claudia Parker
Teaching Assistant Professor
SZ-410
252-737-1566
parkercl22@ecu.edu

Timothy Romack
Associate Professor
Systematic Design and Synthesis of Macromolecules
SZ-546
252-328-9785
romackt@ecu.edu

David Rudel
Teaching Assistant Professor
rudeld@ecu.edu
Biological Chemistry
SZ-411
252-737-4257
rudeld@ecu.edu

Andrew Sargent
Professor
Quantum Chemical Studies of Catalytic Organometallic Reactions
SZ-501
252-328-9759
sargenta@ecu.edu

Thomas Shoopman
Teaching Assistant Professor
Physical, Analytical, and General Chemistry
SZ-515
252-737-6017
shoopmant20@ecu.edu

Anne Spuches
Professor
Biological Inorganic Chemistry
SZ-561
252-328-9796
spuchesa@ecu.edu

Dr. Joi Walker

Joi Walker
Associate Professor
Chemical Education
SZ-503
252-328-9772
walkerjoi15@ecu.edu

Shawn White
Teaching Assistant Professor
General Chemistry
SZ-505
252-737-1383
whitesha17@ecu.edu

Yu “Frank” Yang
Professor
Supercritical Fluid
Separation Techniques
Subcritical
Water Applications
SZ-584
252-328-9811
yangy@ecu.edu


Scientific Research Staff

Our scientific research staff offer expertise, consulting services, and support for the research activities of faculty and the development needs of external clients.

Jack Pender
Principal Research Scholar
Director, Pharmaceutical Training and Laboratory Services
SZ-343E
252-328-9711
penderj15@ecu.edu


Emeriti Faculty

Caroline L. Ayers, Ph.D., Professor Emerita
Paul Wayne Ayers, Ph.D., Associate Professor Emeritus
Myron L. Caspar, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
Donald F. Clemens, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
Paul Gemperline, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
James E. Hix, Jr., Ph.D., Associate Professor Emeritus
Robert A. Klein, Ph.D., Associate Professor Emeritus
Robert C. Morrison, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
Phillip A. Zoretic, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus

Adjunct Faculty

Mary Farwell, Department of Biology
Siddharta Mitra, Department of Geological Sciences
Cindy Putnam-Evans, Department of Biology
Rukiyah Van Dross, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology


Staff

Our staff members work diligently to support the academic and research efforts of chemistry students and faculty. Their offices are located on the 3rd-floor suites in the Science and Technology Building. Our stockroom and laboratory staff members are located on the 4th floor of the Science and Technology Building.

Jenny Whitehurst
Lead Administrative Assistant
308 Science and Technology Building
252-328-9704
whitehurstj21@ecu.edu
Lisa Treadway
Financial Administrative Support Associate
305 Science and Technology Building
252-328-9706
treadwayl16@ecu.edu
Taylor Harris
Student Services Specialist
303 Science and Technology Building
252-328-9710
harrista22@ecu.edu
Stockroom Manager
458 Science and Technology Building